A message from the organisers

Following discussions with the competing bands, ‘B:Music management at Symphony Hall’ and the composer of the Open test piece ‘The World Rejoicing’, Edward Gregson, the organisers of the British Open have made the decision to postpone the rescheduled 2021 British Open which was due to be held on Sunday 23rd January.

Obviously as contest organisers we feel strongly, as bands and the brass band community do, that the ability for all of us to return to a situation of normality where we can enjoy music making and contesting safely is something we embrace and look forward to. However the recent increase in the number of covid cases and effect of the new variant is such that in order to ensure the safety and well-being of the bands, audience and indeed our own team we feel we had to make the decision to reschedule the 23rd January event.

As well as the restrictions on bands being able to prepare and rehearse, there would inevitably be the risk of key band members testing positive and having to quarantine. This would impact the integrity of the British Open standards and quality of performance which is required to do justice to the UK contest premiere of ‘The World Rejoicing’ as well as the bands affected.

Alongside these key considerations, we are also very mindful of the uncertainty of the current situation and the need to provide as much notice as possible in terms of travel and hotel arrangements for those attending, as well as ensuring that the contest day is an enjoyable one for our audience.

This year’s contest to be held at Symphony Hall on Saturday 10th September 2022 will therefore be the 168th British Open, and all those who purchased tickets for the postponed September 2021 and January 2022 contests will be able to use their ticket for this event. Please wait to be contacted by B:Music box office regarding the new date, and the refund process, should you not be able to make this new date – please do not contact the box office directly’.

There are a small number of tickets remaining which are available from B:Music Box Office at Symphony Hall .
As before, the 168th British Open contest will be supported by Besson.

The Spring Festival qualifying contests at Winter Gardens Blackpool; We are presently proposing that these will take place as planned on Saturday 7th May 2022. 

Test Piece

Edward Gregson
A set of variations on the chorale Nun danket alle Gott written around 1636 by Martin Rinkart and set to music around 1648 by Johann Cruger.
The World Rejoicing (Symphonic Variations on a Lutheran Chorale) was jointly commissioned by the British Open Brass Band Championship, and the National Brass Band Associations/Federations of the Netherlands (NBK), Belgium (VLAMO), Switzerland (SBBV) and Norway (NMF), to be used as the top section test-piece for their National/Open brass band competitions in 2020/21.

Roll of Honour

2019 Cory - (Philip Harper)
2018 Cory - (Philip Harper)
2017 Valaisia Brass Band - (Arsene Duc)
2016 Cory (Philip Harper)
2015 Grimethorpe Colliery (Dr Robert Childs)
2014 Black Dyke - Dr. Nicholas Childs - Vita Aeterna Variations - Alexander Comitas
2013 Tredegar - Ian Porthouse - Arabian Nights - Stephen Roberts
2012 Foden's - Allan Withington - Electra - Martin Ellerby
2011 Cory - Dr Robert Childs - Red Priest - Professor Philip Wilby 

2010 Tredegar - Ian Porthouse - On the Shoulders of Giants - Professor Peter Graham
2009 Cory Band - Dr. Robert Childs - Titan's Progress - Hermann Pallhuber
2008 Fodens Richardson - Garry Cutt - Rococo Variations - Professor Edward Gregson
2007 Cory Band - Dr. Robert Childs - Visions of Gerontius - Kenneth Downie
2006 Black Dyke - Dr. Nicholas Childs - Vienna Nights -Philip Wilby
2005 Black Dyke - Dr. Nicholas Childs - The Night to Sing - Bramwell Tovey
2004 Fodens Richardson - Contest Music Garry E. Cutt Contest Music (Wilfred Heaton), Montage (Peter Graham), St. Magnus (Kenneth Downie)
2003 Yorkshire Building - Society Prof. David King - The Planets Suite [Venus & Jupiter], Holst arr. Stephen Roberts
2002 Buy As You View Cory - Robert Childs - The Maunsell Forts - John McCabe
2001 Yorkshire Building Society - David King - Les Preludes, Liszt, transcribed Bram Gay 

2000 Buy As You View Cory - Robert Childs - Ceremony - Michael Ball
1999 Yorkshire Building Society - David King - Dove Descending - Philip Wilby
1998 Williams Fairey - J. Gourlay - Diversions on a Bass Theme - George Lloyd
1997 Yorkshire Building Society - David King - Whitsun Wakes - Michael Ball
1996 Marple - Garry Cutt - The Severn Suite - Sir Edward Elgar, arr. Bram Gray
1995 Black Dyke - J. Watson - Revelation - Philip Wilby
1994 BNFL Leyland - R. Evans - Salamander - John McCabe
1993 Williams Fairey - P. Parkes - Masquerade - Philip Wilby
1992 Black Dyke - J. Watson - Cloudcatcher Fells - John McCabe
1991 Grimethorpe Colliery - F. Renton - Paganini Variations - Philip Wilby
1990 Sun Life - R. Newsome - Le Roi d'Ys - Edouard Lalo, arr. Frank Wright